Results: Basketball Championship, Cricket Championship & NBD Primary Schools Football continues

icon_basketballAfter years of absence in competitive basketball at the Secondary Schools, the Castle Bruce Secondary School (CBSS) and the Isaiah Thomas Secondary School (ITSS)  returned to face each other in an exciting encounter in a match organized by the Sports Division in the 2015 U-20 Boys Basketball Championships.

This match was held at the St. Joseph’s Hard Court on Tuesday 10th February and at the final whistle, it was the ITSS  which emerged winners when they narrowly defeated the CBSS – 57:56.

For the ITSS

Shaelon Vidal – 21 points, 11 rebounds, and 3 steals

Maverick Mathew – 17 points, 3 rebounds and 4 steals

Cameron Fredrick – 10 points, 8 rebounds, 7 steals and 5 assists

For the CBSS

Nelon Jno. Charles – 29 points, 4 steals, and 4 assists

Raim Ettiene – 10 points, 11 rebounds

Kenley Mathew – 8 points, 11 rebounds

The competition continues on Friday 20th February with two (2) matches in the Girls’ Division.

  • DGS vs DSC at Dominica Grammar School and
  • PSS vs CBSS at the Castle Bruce Hard Court


icon_cricketThe St. Mary’s Academy (SMA) and the Pierre Charles Secondary School (PCSS)  played a match at the Botanic Gardens on Tuesday 10th February in the 2015 United Insurance U-20 Cricket Championship organized by the Sports Division.

SMA won the toss and sent PCSS in to bat.

PCSS – 163 all out

Alick Athanaze – 66

Akan Edwards – 23

Nick Alexander – 4 for 22

Terrel Toussaint – 3 for 80

SMA – 76 all out

Terrel Toussaint – 47

Alick Athanaze – 4 for 4

McCoy Blanc – 4 for 19

Akan Edwards – 2 for 16

SMA was sent in to bat again (follow-on)

Terrel Toussaint – 85

Kian Jno Baptiste – 2 for 44

PCSS won on 1st Inning score


icon_footballThe National Bank of Dominica Primary School Football Championship continues.

On Wednesday 11th February, the schools in the Valley Central Zone will meet at the Lindo Park in Goodwill for their final day in Round One whilst at the Lio Park in Marigot, the schools of the East Zone will challenge each other.

On Thursday 12th February, the schools of the South will meet for their 2nd day of competition whilst the Giraudel, Newtown, St. Luke’s, Berean, Soufriere, SMP and the Christian Union Primary Schools will converge at the Newtown Savannah from 1:00 pm for the start of their zonal competition.

The West Zone’s schools will complete their Round one matches on Friday, 13th February at the Mahaut Playing Field.