9th Annual National Sports Awards is on Tomorrow

gold-trophy-on-whiteThe Sports Division in the Ministry of Youth, Sports, Culture and Constituency Empowerment will on Wednesday May 6, 2015 host the 9th Annual National Sports Awards. The function will be held under the patronage of His Excellency the President of Dominica, Mr. Charles A. Savarin & Mrs. Savarin.

The event, which has as its theme this year, “Strengthening Society through Sporting Achievements” will commence at 7:00 pm at the Fort Young Hotel in Roseau.

Some thirty-nine (39) awards will be presented to sports personalities and sports organizations that have excelled in 2014. The main feature of this awards ceremony will be the declaration of the Sportsman and Woman of the Year for 2014.

Some of the contenders for the Sportsman of the Year are Yordany’s Garcia (athletics), Thomas Felix (basketball), Tyron Theophile (cricket), David Toussaint (volleyball) and Randolph Peltier (football).  Contenders for the Sportswoman of the Year include Thea Lafond (athletics), Rosilia Registe (basketball & cricket), Kasika Samuel (football) and Valerian Spicer (boxing).

Addresses will come from Sports Coordinator Mr. Trevor Shillingford and the    Hon. Justina Charles, Minister for Youth, Sports, Culture and Constituency Empowerment and entertainment will come from Kassim Birmingham, Sheldon Alfred and the Fanatic Band.

The Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports says thank you to its partners – LIME, PDV Caribe, Fort Young Hotel, Vibes Radio, Kairi Fm, DBS Radio and Springfield Trading Ltd for their support of the event.

The objectives of the National Sports Awards are to raise the profile of sports in Dominica, elevate standards in performance and bring into focus the importance of strong, well-structured organizations and good governance in sport.