We welcome you to the Official Website of the Sports Division in the Ministry of Youth, Sports, Culture and Constituency Empowerment of the Commonwealth of Dominica.

2014 Netball Camp

NetballThe Sports Division has selected the following students to take part in a Netball Training Camp to be held during the Christmas vacation.

The students are:

  1. Kyla Winston – DGS
  2. Rachel Seraphin – DGS
  3. Vanelcia John – DGS
  4. Chrystal Bannis – DGS
  5. Jeanne Seraphin – DGS
  6. Precious Peter – CHS
  7. Kishma Harve – CHS
  8. Brine’ Hamilton – CHS
  9. Schellie Stephen – CHS
  10. Engelique Sorhaindo – CHS
  11. Tonillia Elie – CHS
  12. Darnisha Langlais – PSS
  13. Celena Langlais – PSS
  14. Rhea Pierre – PSS
  15. Alliyah Prince – PSS
  16. Anoushka Boatswain – PSS
  17. Kaylee Clarke – PSS
  18. Kristel Ferrol – SJA
  19. Lhana Honore – SJA
  20. Verd Fontaine – PCSS
  21. Kayla Telemacque – NECS
  22. Jezrie Fredrick – NECS
  23. Leneter Cadette – NECS

Training will take place on December 13th, 18th, 19th, 20th, 29th, 30th 2014 and on January 10th 2015 at the Dominica Grammar School from 9:30 am daily.

Posted in Schools, Secondary School | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

2014 Secondary Schools Football Championship Winners and Revised Fixture

Below is vFootballersion 5 of the fixtures for the Secondary Schools Football Championships.  This revised fixture only indicates the revision made in terms of the 13 & Under Category since the U-15, U-17 and U-20 championships are already completed.

On this note, the Sports Division would like to extend congratulations to the winners of the completed championships:

  • U-15 Championship – Dominica Grammar School
  • U-17 Championship – Dominica Grammar School
  • U-20 Championship – Goodwill Secondary School
U-15 Football Champs 2014 - DGS Team Photo

U-15 Football Champs 2014 – DGS Team Photo

U-15 Football Champs 2014 - DGS

U-15 Football Champs 2014 – DGS

The Points tables can also be found below.

Secondary Schools Football Championships 2014 Fixture

Secondary Schools Football Championships 2014 Tables

Posted in Schools, Secondary School | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

U-15 & U-20 Football Championships – Finals (today and tomorrow)

FootballThe curtains will be drawn on two age-categories competitions in the Sports Division’s Secondary Schools Football Championships.

On Tuesday, December 02, 2014, the Under 15 Final will be played between the Dominica Grammar School (DGS) and St. Mary’s Academy (SMA) at the Benjamin’s Park in Portsmouth from 3:00 pm.

The DGS, the defending U-15 Champions, booked their place in the final with a 1-0 win over ITSS; whilst the SMA defeated the GSS in a semi-final match that was decided on penalty kicks after a 2 – 2 draw at regulation time. The two schools also featured in last year’s U-15 final.

Meanwhile, the U-20 championship will be determined on Wednesday, December 03, 2014; this match will also be played at the Benjamin’s Park at 3:00 pm. The U-20 Final will be between the GSS and ITSS – both schools competed in the U-20 final last year.

The U-20 championship was played on a round robin basis with the top team getting an automatic qualification to the Final while the 2nd finalist was determined in a play-off between the 2nd and 3rd placed teams.

ITSS placed first in the round robin stage while GSS won over PCSS in the play-off match to determine the 2nd finalist – GSS won that match-up 5 goals to 1.

Last week, DGS won the U-17 category with a 2 – 0  win over SMA.

The 13 & Under Division will commence on December 5th.  This will be the 4th category of the 2014/15 Secondary Schools Football Championships.  In excess of 200 goals have been scored thus far in the 2014/15 Championships.

Posted in Secondary School | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

U-17 Football Championship Final

FootballThe final of the Sports Division  U-17  Football Championship will be played today – Friday, November 28, 20014  between defending Champions DGS and SMA at Benjamin’s Park in Portsmouth from 3:00 pm.

DGS booked a spot in the final when they won their semi final match against GSS – 1:Nil.  SMA won over PSS – 9:0 in their semi final match up.

Today will also see action in the play off match to determine the second finalist in the U-20 division.  Defending Champion GSS will come up against the PCSS in a match at 2:30 pm at the Newtown Savannah to determine which team will meet the ITSS in the U-20 final which is scheduled to take place on the December 3rd at Benjamin’s Park in Portsmouth.

The ITSS booked a spot to the final by placing 1st in the Round Robin stage of the competition.  The playoffs is between the 2nd and 3rd placed teams at the Round Robin stage. GSS placed 2nd whilst the PCSS placed 3rd.

Posted in Secondary School | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

2014 Primary Schools Independence Athletics Championships Finals Results

AthleticsAttached below are the results of the Finals of the 2014 Primary Schools  Independence  Athletics Meet held on October 22nd at Portsmouth.

The North East was again triumphant –  winning both the male and female categories with an overall score of 169 points.  Second was the North with 106 points; Third was the South East with 76; Fourth was the South West with 62 points; Fifth was the South with 59 points; The North West came in 6th with 58 points whilst the West Central  had to settle in the cellar position with 43 points.

The Most Outstanding Female  Athlete was Jarnilllia Phillip from the Wesley Primary School and the Most Outstanding Male  Athlete was Quan Lawrence of the Jones Beaupierre Primary School.  Other top performers were Asrie Valmond from Sinkeu Primary,  Lanesha John Pierre from Tete Morne Primary and Yakima Tavernier and Etheline Telemaque from  the Wesley Primary.

Quan Lawrence broke the record  in Long Jump for Junior Boys when he jumped 4.06 m; the previous record was 4.02m.

Briton Royer from the Belle Vue Chopin Primary School equaled the 1000 m record for Junior Boys when he ran this race in 3:29. 8.

Final Results

District Overall Points

Overall Athletes per Category

Posted in Primary School, Results | Tagged , , | Leave a comment